Spurs finish 5th in the Milk Cup – including highlights

Follow me on Twitter – @WindyCOYS.

Last week a Tottenham Hotspur U17 squad participated in the Milk Cup, a yearly tournament held in Northern Ireland. The tournament finished on Friday, with Spurs finishing in fifth place – a respectable position for such a young side.

Mon 25 Jul (at Showgrounds, Limavaday) Otago (New Zealand) U17s 0-4 Tottenham Hotspur U17s
Scorers: Ball 2, Oduwa, OG

Michael-Precil Gardiner Modeste Ward
McEvoy Smith Champion Ball Lameiras


Sonupe for Michael-Precil
Ogilvie for Ward
Akindayini for Zapata-Caidedo
Oduwa for McEvoy

Spurs site report
Highlights – 5:39 in


Tue 26 Jul (at Riada Stadium, Ballymoney) Co. Farmanagh U17s 1-2 Tottenham Hotspur U17s
Scorer: McEvoy 2

Lyons-Foster Modeste Ogilvie Ward
Maguraushe Champion Ball Oduwa Sanoupe


Michel-Precil for Lyons-Foster, 36,
McEvoy for Maguraushe, 36.
Smith for Sanoupe, 36.
Lameiras for Oduwa, 54.
Akindayini for Zapata-Caidedo, 68.

Spurs site report
Highlights – 5:41 in


Wed 27 Jul (at Showgrounds, Ballymena) South Coast Strikers U17s 2-1 Tottenham Hotspur U17s
Scorer: Lameiras (pen)

Ward Ogilvie Michel-Precil Gardiner
Champion Ball Smith McEvoy Lameires


Sonupe for Ball, 52.
Oduwa for Zapata-Caicedo, 55.
Modeste for Gardiner, 58.
Lyons-Foster for Smith, 62.
Akindayini Michel-Precil, 67.

Highlights – 5:23 in
Spurs site report


Thu 28 Jul (at Broughshane) Tottenham Hotspur U17s 4-3 Cherry Orchard U17s
Scorers: Lameiras, OG, Gardiner, Akindayini

Lyons-Foster Gardiner Modeste Ogilvie
McEvoy Sonupe Lameiras Ball Oduwa


Zapata-Caicedo for Sonupe, 43.
Ward for Oduwa, 43.
Michael-Percil for Akindayini, 53.
Smith for McEvoy, 57.

Spurs site report


Fri 29 Jul (at Showgrounds, Coleraine) Tottenham Hotspur U17s 1-1 South Coast Strikers U17s (Spurs won 4-2 on penalties)
Scorer: Ball

Michel-Percil Gardiner Modeste Ogilvie
McEvoy Champion Lameiras Ward Ball


Akindayini for Zapata-Caicedo, 51.
Oduwa for McEvoy, 57.

Spurs site report

Squad (“Premier” section rules stipulate that you can only include players born on or after 1 January 1994):

1 Billy Granger
2 Grant Ward
3 Ruben Lameiras
4 Dominic Ball
5 Kodi Lyons-Foster
6 Oliver Modeste
7 Frederick Champion
8 Emmanuel Sonupe
9 Victor Zapata-Caidedo
10 Leeroy Maguraushe
11 Kenneth McEvoy
12 Daniel Akindayiuni
13 Liam Priestly
14 Samuel Smith
15 Thomas Gardiner
16 Roman Percil
17 Kolade Nathan Oduwa
18 Connor Ogilvie

Spurs tend to select younger players for these tournaments where possible, and left out a number of players with more experience who would have been eligible. The likes of James Yeboah, Ronnie Hawkins, Lee Angol, Shaquille Coulthirst, Alex McQueen, and Laste Dombaxe would all have qualified for the tournament, but instead a number of under 16 players were used, with only one second year (Freddy Champion) included in the squad.

I have had the pleasure of reading some Milk Cup match reports from the author of the Spurs On This Day blog – he is hoping to get these posted over the course of the next week, so make sure that you check back if you are interested in our young players.

Leave a comment


Your email address will not be published.